Baked Zucchini Chips

When you’re eating low carb food you quickly find that it’s kind of hard to come up with good snacks that won’t break your diet. Potato chips, candy, and ice cream is out of the question. So I’m trying out a couple of different things and read online that zucchini chips was a good alternative to regular potato chips (which I happen to love).

You Need:

  • 1 large zucchini (though my store only had tiny ones)
  • Pastry/basting brush
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper

I cut my zucchini by hand, so I took my time making sure the slices were thin and even (a couple ended up too thick, and they didn’t taste very good). Then I spread them out on a paper towel and used another one to get some of the water out of them. You want them to get crispy, after all.
IMG_6742
Cover a cookie sheet in parchment paper and spread your zucchini slices out evenly. They can be close together as long as they don’t overlap. Use your pastry brush to cover the slices in a thin layer of olive oil. Don’t overdo it, though. I did, and even though my chips were still delicious they weren’t as crispy as I’d like them to be. Then you sprinkle a little bit of salt and pepper onto each slice.
IMG_6751
Let them cook for 2+ hours on 225 degrees, checking on them towards the end. You want them to be crispy and golden. I thought they tasted better the darker they were, and the ones that were still fairly green I didn’t like much. Since mine had way too much olive oil on them I let them cool off on a paper towel before putting them in a bowl.
IMG_6752
And enjoy! They have a very distinct flavor that I hadn’t anticipated, but really, really liked. It also made me eat only one chip at a time, making them last for a couple hours instead of a couple minutes (which is how I used to go through regular chips, haha). All in all it was a success, and I’m excited to try it again.
IMG_6754

5 thoughts on “Baked Zucchini Chips

  1. Pingback: Low Carb Healthy Snack Zucchini Chips | Glenda the Good Foodie

Leave a Reply

