Everglades Part 1

Wops, I completely forgot to post our pictures from the Everglades a couple weeks back. I only posted a quick picture of my and Andy holding a baby alligator. You see, after about 6 hours of being outside and another 4 hours of driving I was completely exhausted when we finally got to our hotel in Florida City. We just grabbed a late dinner at Applebee’s and went to sleep. That’s actually how a lot of our vacation days went – I’m surprised that I managed to update my blog as much as I did. I must really love you guys!

I think we left Miami a little before 11 and got to Everglades (the city) almost 2.5 hours later. We were delayed by a lot of roadwork and a stop for coffee. Coffee was a necessity every morning, since we were lucky if we got 7 hours of sleep a night. So I spent half of our trip trying to wake up and the other half staring excitedly out of the window. The view was just amazing! In certain places it even looked just like an African Savannah.

The first thing on our agenda was going on an airboat ride, and we ended up going with Jungle Erv’s. The tickets included an alligator boardwalk, while the actual ride was about 2 hours later. So we had plenty of time for the boardwalk and dinner at a cute local seafood restaurant.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This little cutie was talking and waving to everyone walking by him.
Parrot in the Everglades
And then it was time for us to get to hold an alligator ourselves. I was a little nervous, but he was sitting completely still the whole time. And I was surprised at how soft his skin actually was.
Me holding an alligator
baby alligator
There was also a manatee lookout spot, but we weren’t lucky enough to see one.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Most of the alligators we saw were actually wild ones. They had build spots along the river where they could climb up and lay in the sun. And this giant didn’t even move an eyelid while we were standing there watching him. I just wish I was half as calm as an alligator, because they can lay perfectly still for hours.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 thoughts on “Everglades Part 1

Leave a Reply

