Exciting Blog Changes

Wow… I’ve spent the better part of my day looking into transferring my blog to become self-hosted. I am so tired of not being able to change my design or add widgets for giveaways and so on. That’s what I get for choosing a free blog platform, but now that things are going great and my enthusiasm for blogging is at it’s highest I would like to take it one step further. In the long run I think it will be the right decision for me and the blog. I’ll definitely enjoy the creative freedom.

But let me tell you, it’s all very confusing! I was familiar with the general idea of it, but all the details have me baffled. Now I think I’ve finally made my decision, but it will still take a while before it’s all ready. And until then I’ll still be blogging right here. And don’t worry, all my posts, pages, and comments will be transferred when the change is made. I’m so excited!

If you blog from WordPress and have any questions regarding blogging or becoming self-hoted, I recommend you stop by WPbeginner and search their archives. They have been such a great help to me!

Oh, and while we’re talking about blogging… Right now my cute little banner is up on the right side of lovely Ange’s blog. And she also has a giveaway coming up on Monday, so you should stay tuned!
ANG1_zps5fcd0c25

Now I’m wondering: Are your self-hosted or do you blog from a free platform? And how did you make the decision? If you have any tips, feel free to share them!

4 thoughts on “Exciting Blog Changes

  1. I’m thinking of getting my blog self-hosted too! It’s a shame how our wordpress blogs are so limited with widgets and stuff like that. How are you going to do it? I know people on Blogger can buy their domain on hosters like Go Daddy, but how do we do it with WP? If we buy the domain from wordpress, and pay the annual fee, is that it? I’m planning to make the change when the summer ends, but still… It looks a bit complicated!

    • Hehe, I posted this a looong time ago :P My blog is already self-hosted by now. The move was quite a bit of a hassle, but I thought it was worth it. Now I’m not limited by anything but my imagination – I love it!

      I already had a domain name, so I didn’t have to worry about that, but yeah you just buy it through whichever blog host you decide to go with. I used Bluehost.com

    • Sorry for the late reply. I was so confused to why I couldn’t find your comment anywhere on the blog (I got a notification about it, but it never showed up under the post), and it’s because you have commented on my old blog (trinemarie.wordpress.com instead of trinemarie.com). This is probably way too late, but it’s not a problem at all. I bought me domain through WP and then switched to BlueHost later.

Leave a Reply

