Delicious Salmon Pasta Recipe

I finally tried out this salmon pasta recipe that I’ve been drooling over for the last couple of weeks (courtesy of REMCooks – check out their blog) and figured I’d share it with you. The recipe I’ve posted is from REMCooks.com, but I made a few changes myself, mostly because I wanted to make a little less of it and because I didn’t have every single ingredient. I wrote my own changes in parenthesis while posting the original recipe the way it was – however, all the pictures are mine.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 12 oz salmon filet (I used less)
  • 3 large garlic cloves, chopped (I probably used way too much garlic, but I loved it)
  • 1/2 pound mushrooms, sliced
  • 5 scallions, chopped (I used less)
  • 1 large tomato, seeded and diced
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine (I simply used the wine I was drinking at the time, since I am not fond of dry wines – but it still seemed to work just fine)
  • 3 Tbsp capers, drained (I used a little less, since I have never eaten them before)
  • 1/2 lb pasta (spaghetti, linguini, fettucini will work fine, as will penne)
  • 1/4 cup fresh fennel fronds, chopped (my store didn’t have this so I ended up just using a bunch of dried dill weed, which I actually thought was pretty delicious)
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced

Instructions:

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and cook pasta.

Heat oil in heavy large skillet over medium-high heat. Season salmon with salt and pepper and add to the skillet. (I don’t think my oil was hot enough when I added the salmon, so it had to cook for a bit longer.)

Sauté salmon until just cooked, roughly 3 minutes. Remove salmon to a cutting board. Remove skin and cut into 1/2 – 3/4 inch chunks and set aside.

Add garlic to same skillet and sauté until fragrant, roughly 30 seconds.

Next, add the mushrooms and sauté for roughly 2 minutes. (Ah, your apartment will smell delicious at this point. I was already starving.)

Now, add the scallions, tomato, wine and capers. Cook until mushrooms are tender and the tomatoes start to break down, roughly 5 minutes. (I recommend cutting your own mushrooms. I bought them pre-cut and they were so thick that they had to cook longer, making the tomatoes very mushy. But hey, they still tasted the same!)

Add pasta, fennel fronds, lemon juice and salmon. Toss to incorporate. (This is where I used dill weed instead, and made a mess because my skillet was a bit too small.)

Season with salt and pepper. Serve and enjoy! If desired, sprinkle with some grated parmesan cheese. (Bon Apetit! Andy told me he loved it, so it was definitely a success. I even reheated the rest today and it was still delicious!)

8 thoughts on “Delicious Salmon Pasta Recipe

  1. Prøvde å lage denne selv og er en ny favoritt!! 😉 Sløyfet kapers da, siden det er jeg ikke spesielt glad i. Liker at du legger ut oppskrifter, pleier å teste dem ut!

Leave a Reply

