My Simple Spaghetti Sauce

Spaghetti must be one of the cheapest things to eat for dinner; which makes it perfect for a student budget. A store-brand box of spaghetti is about $1, me and Andy only eat half of it. A can of spaghetti sauce is $2, and half of it is more than enough for dinner. So there you go – dinner for two for only $1.50; or dinner for four for $3. It’s not exactly the most fancy food in the world, but it’s not bad.

However the other day I wanted a little more than that, so I mixed together my own sauce. I used one pack of ground beef, one pack of pre-cut mushrooms, 3 or 4 chopped cloves of garlic, half a can of Kroger spaghetti sauce (it was red pepper and garlic), and a bit of garlic powder on top – as you can tell we are both a huge fan of garlic, haha. But it was actually not very strong when it was done.

So, it might not look like the most delicious thing in the world, but we both really liked it.

I don’t try out new and fancy recipes quite often enough, but I figured I could still share some simple everyday ideas with you guys. I know that I’ve often used other blogs for inspiration when I don’t know what to cook for dinner. Anyway, today I’m going to stay in and take it easy since I’m getting up early tomorrow to go shopping in Atlanta with Maren. But I guess I might celebrate Georgia’s victory over Tennessee with a glass of wine! GO DAWGS!!

Celebratory pose? Eh, I don’t know…

4 thoughts on “My Simple Spaghetti Sauce

  1. When I was in college I ate a lot of Kraft Mac & Cheese in a box because it was cheap! If you have the time to cook an Italian marinara sauce (hard to find when you work and go to college), you will be surprised at how cheap it is. Per serving, it is roughly the same as Prago, Ragu, Barilla, etc. but a whole lot better in flavor. Now tell the Beast to put Beauty down!😉

Leave a Reply

