Working From Home

So, it’s no secret among my friends and family that I’m really not sure what exactly I want to do with my life. I’m not sure what job I want, or where I want to live, and I am trying to figure it all out. But, like everyone else, I want to find that one thing that will motivate me to come back every day. You might have heard that cheesy commercial that says “if you do something you love, you will never work a day in your life”? Well, it always makes me chuckle, but there is definitely some truth to it.

Regardless of what I end up doing I think working from home is something I would enjoy; so I’ve been thinking about it for a while. First, imagine all the perks. No commute or getting stuck in traffic. No getting up ridiculously early every morning. Less money spent eating out during lunch breaks. You’re your own boss, so you have more control of your work day, vacations, and personal time. And, if you want to, you can easily work in your pajamas.

So, I guess a “professional blogger” is pretty much living the life, working from their bed.

Well no, probably not.

There are also a lot of potential pitfalls to be aware of, and I’ve been writing down the things I would have to do in order to make it work for myself. Because I think planning is key when working from home.

  1. Set an alarm every morning (Monday through Friday)
    • No, you don’t have to get up at 7 every morning, but you also shouldn’t let yourself sleep as long as you want (I could easily sleep past noon). And structure is important.
  2. Create your own regular work hours
    • Make sure you start and stop working at somewhat the same time every day. This is the easiest way to separate work and personal life, and to make sure you are being efficient and getting stuff done. And – since you are most likely working on your computer – if you are having a hard time staying away from websites that are non-work related, use the software selfcontrol which will block your computer from them for a certain amount of time.
  3. Make to-do lists of everything you want to achieve every day
    • You might have more freedom, but there are still things that need to be done (and if they don’t get done you will certainly not be making any money). Stick to your lists and keep yourself motivated.
  4. Create a work-zone at home
    • If you are working in front of the tv then there is a bigger chance of getting distracted (strangely enough), and if you are working in bed it is easy to convince yourself that it’s time for a nap. Your mind will have an easier time focusing when you sit down by a desk and you know it is time to work. All though, some times it might be better to go to the library or somewhere similar, just to get away from all distractions – especially if you are lacking motivation.
  5. Give yourself a lunch break
    • Give yourself an hour break every day and don’t go back to work until the hour is over. You need a break if you don’t want to get burned out. You should also try to sometimes go out during this hour. Have a coffee at a café or just go for a walk; your body needs a little exercise and the fresh air will do you good.
  6. Connect with other people who does similar work
    • This one is actually very important for me as, in the past, my colleagues have always had a lot to do with whether or not I enjoy a job. You can motivate and inspire each other, and it is important to be social even though you suddenly don’t have a reason to leave the house every day.
  7. Don’t “take work home with you”
    • This is especially important if you have a family. You should stop working when your work day is over, in order to try to keep work and personal time separate.


Now, if you’ve read this far, I just wanted to reward you with this awesome comic: LINK. And let you know that the sweater in the above picture might be the most comfortable one I will ever own. I got it from Forever 21 last week, and it’s so soft that I can hardly feel myself wearing it.

4 thoughts on “Working From Home

  1. I had the same problem. I graduated in July and didn’t know what to do.. so I started in August with blogging and knew I wanted to do something with communication. I searched for an internship and tomorrow is my try-out day. Very exciting!

    xoxo
    PICK ME AN OUTFIT

Leave a Reply

