What Blogging Means To Me

Blogging means different things to everyone. It can be your own online journal where you share life stories and experiences with people in the same situation; or it can be a cookbook where you swap recipes with other amateur cooks; or an outlet for all your creative energy where you can give and get fashion advice. Whatever the reason people have for blogging they all seem to find it stimulating, and they love the interaction with other bloggers. I am no different.

My blog doesn’t have a specific target audience (except possibly women in general) because I blog about everything from recipes, nail polish, fashion, and my everyday life. If my only goal was to get as many page views as possible I would devote myself completely to one of these so that readers always knew what to expect. But instead I see my blog as a personal outlet and a hobby that I love. I started it because my family lives on the other side of the world from me and I wanted to keep them updated, but then I quickly ended up using it to share more than personal updates (who would want to read a blog that only focused on what I did every day anyway?).

I love taking pictures, and I love editing them. I love nail polish, and trying out new designs. I love it when I succeed in trying out a new recipe. I love shopping, and I love getting dressed up. I love my friends and family, and writing about our experiences together. And when the day is over I love sitting down and sharing it all with YOU. And most of all, I love it when people respond positively to something I have written and pictures I have taken. It makes me happy.

I just think blogging is a great source of inspiration. Even though it is just a hobby, and not a job, I still put effort into posting regularly. So when I’m out of ideas I force myself to do something new or see things in a different way. Since I started doing this I find that I have more fun. It is a way of inspiring myself, not a pressure to constantly write something random to the world. And you have no idea how inspiring other blogs have been in this process. Sharing ideas is the best part of this whole thing!

So, now I want to know, what does blogging mean to YOU?

10 thoughts on “What Blogging Means To Me

  1. Lovely post🙂 blogging for me is putting my passion for fashion out there. I struggled at the beginning, because I did study fashion design, and I felt underrated in a world where everyone has it’s own opinion on Fashion, but now I’m ok with it. I love blogging, it’s my beloved hobby and right now it’s almost a necessity😀

  2. I think about this all the time! I’m new to the blogging world, and sometimes I stress that I’m not blogging about anything “relevant enough” but then I remember why I started blogging. If everyone wants to see what’s going on, they’re more than welcome to follow – which I hope they do!

  3. This is a great post! You are so right about everything; blogging is a huge inspiration.

    When I started out; I was strictly a beauty blogger, but now I consider myself and beauty and Lifestyle blogger because I actually love to write about myself, and my life. {haha}

    It’s crazy, the road that blogging takes; I’m coming up on my 2 year anniversary this year && my style is so different then when I started!

    I just love everything about it!

    Thanks for linking up with us over on The Wednesday Chronicles! I hope to see you next week!

    xo, Nykki from nykki-talks-beauty.com

    • Yeah, I never expected to have so much fun with it! I’ve always been a lifestyle blogger since I started my blog to keep my friends and family updated. Then I expanded to outfits, makeup and nail polish. I found so much inspiration in other blogs that I was motivated to keep improving my own🙂

Leave a Reply

