Steamed Salmon and Leeks

I found this recipe on one of my favorite Norwegian blogs a while back and just now decided to try it out. I changed it slightly, and I’m extremely happy with the result. And it only took me 20 minutes to make!

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound salmon filet
  • Two big leeks
  • ½ a cup of whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • Half of a lemon
  • Tomatoes (I used cherry tomatoes)
  • Salt, pepper, and garlic powder for seasoning

First I cut the salmon into reasonable pieces and squeezed a quarter of a lemon over them (feel free to add more). Then I seasoned them with pepper and garlic powder and put them aside for later.

On to the leeks. They are often full of sand and dirt, so cut them halfway through and make sure you rinse off all the layers well. Then chop them up and add it to a big pot.

Add the cream and butter, and however much salt and pepper you want. Put a lid on and wait until it boils. Turn the stove down to medium/low and let the leeks cook for another 5 minutes.

Put the salmon fillets in the pot with the skin up. Let them simmer under a lid for about seven minutes (I cooked mine for eight minutes and I though they were slightly too dry).

Serve with chopped up fresh tomatoes and the last quarter of lemon. Delicious!

This is also a really great and healthy low-carb meal. It won’t be the last one I’m posting either, because I started on a LCHF diet yesterday and I’ve looked up a bunch of new recipes.

6 thoughts on “Steamed Salmon and Leeks

Leave a Reply

