Holly Jolly Holiday TAG 2!

So, I’ve never completely understood the point of all these tags and question answering posts, but I suppose it is a fun way to get to know the people behind the blogs you read regularly. This I was tagged by another blogger to answer these 15 Christmas questions, and I figured “why not?”
red-background-with-two-balls-and-some-snowflakes

1. Do you start your Christmas shopping on Black Friday or wait until the last-minute?
A little bit of both. I procrastinate a lot, but if I have some ideas for specific people I love getting them out of the way as soon as possible. I just think it’s hard to come up with good ideas.

2. If you could be in any Christmas movie what would it be?
It would have to be a Norwegian one called “Reisen til Julestjernen”. It means “the trip to the Christmas star”, and it’s a classic that I’ve watched every Christmas eve since I was a kid.

3. Which do you like better: Christmas Eve or Christmas Day?
Well, I’m Norwegian and we celebrate Christmas on the 24th. So Christmas eve is definitely my favorite!

4. When does your family put up your Christmas tree and who decorates it?
The day before our Christmas celebration – on the 23rd. Me and my brother does most of the work.

5. White lights or colored lights?
Absolutely white lights!

6. Are you guilty of peeking at your presents or do you like the surprise?
Nope. I think I might have wanted to as a kid, but I have never actually touched them. Now it’s not even tempting, and I try not to guess either. I have always loved surprises.

7. Would you rather live in a gingerbread house or in Santa’s Workshop?
Haha, neither? Santa’s workshop maybe, though I doubt I’d enjoy all the work.

8. Tell us your Christmas Eve traditions!
I get up early to watch two of my favorite Norwegian Christmas movies, while eating candy from my stocking. Afterwards I hang out with my family and my mother starts getting lunch ready. We eat rømmegrøt (there is really no great translation for that) at around 2 o’clock. There are Christmas shows and concerts on all day, and so tv is on although we don’t pay attention to it most of the time. At 5 o’clock you can hear the church bells ringing outside, which means that it’s officially Christmas and that everyone should be dressed up (at least in our family). We eat cookies and snacks while opening presents, and dinner is served at around 8. I love having my family around me, and I’m never in bed before 2 am.

9. If you could be under the mistletoe with anyone who would it be?
Now you’re probably wondering about celebrity crushes or something, but I’ll still have to say Andy.

10. What tops your tree?
A star that lights up.

11. Can you name the 12 days of Christmas?
Haha, no. That is definitely an American thing that I’m not even familiar with.

12. Have you ever gone Christmas caroling?
Yeah. We went every year as a kid. In Norway it’s almost like going trick or treating. You dress up in Santa hats and red clothes, go door to door and sing carols, and you get candy when you’re done!

13. Do you countdown to Christmas? If so, how many days are left?
Yes! In my head there are two days left, but I suppose three is the right answer.

14. What are some foods and treats you can count on having every holiday season?
We normally have at least 7 kinds of cookies and cakes (most are homemade), and our lunch and dinner are the same every year. They are delicious Norwegian “specialties” that I look forward to every year.

15. How has Christmas kept its magic for you as you’ve grown older?
Well, I’m kind of a big kid still, so it doesn’t take much. I love the traditions and like to do things the same way every year. The expectations and Christmas mood are half the fun.

2 thoughts on “Holly Jolly Holiday TAG 2!

Leave a Reply

