A Healthy Diet

We came home to a completely empty fridge yesterday, so grocery shopping was the first thing on our agenda. Now that Christmas is over and we’re back home I need to get back to eating healthy again (which for me means being back on a lchf diet). Even though I tried, last year wasn’t half as healthy as I wanted it to be. Snacks, candy, and alcohol found it’s way into my system a bit too often. So I’m working on some new resolutions for 2013, which will include more workout and healthy, delicious food.
our_fridge
To start out I wanted to make a couple of things that would stay fresh in the fridge for a few days. It’s so much easier to keep myself from snacking when I have a prepared dish waiting for me. First I made a vegetable salad and a smoked salmon dip, and tomorrow I’m going to whip up a big batch of curry chicken salad. They are all great for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.
IMG_4930
Ah, I really do love this salad. You should try it out if you’re looking for a healthy side dish.
IMG_4932

9 thoughts on “A Healthy Diet

  1. Young, working, recently married, grad student is not conducive to a healthy lifestyle.😮 Sad but true.😦 Too much is going on in your life and there is a tremendous pressure to pay the bills and succeed in school. It’s tough to do because you are always crunched for time but the best thing you can do is eliminate processed foods. They are incredibly high in salt and other preservatives. If it preserves the food, what is it doing to you? If you’re worried about your weight (I cannot imagine why either of your would be worried about that), watch your fats and carbs. Your salad looks delicious and given I gained over 10 lbs during the Holidays and now weigh the most I have ever weighed, I need to eat more salads like this one.😉 Happy New Year to you and Andy!🙂

    • Haha, tell me about it!😛 I’m getting there, though. I think it’s all about getting in the habit of it. And Christmas doesn’t count – you’re supposed to gain weight then! (I know I did) Haha😛 Happy New Years to you too!

      • haha I know what you mean. I’m celiac, so I can’t eat wheat flour. Most of the time i’m pretty good with it but if I “cheat” and have 1 donut, I usually end up eating 5, a piece of cake, and then I’ll make myself french toast haha So I know what you mean.
        I just started working on a fluoride free diet🙂

  2. Ja, det er ingen vei utenom…. Men venter til neste mandag før jeg setter i gang for fullt!🙂
    Må jo få spist opp alt som ligger i skuffer, skap og på boden

Leave a Reply

