2013 Resolutions

So, I don’t usually take new year’s resolutions very seriously, but I still think it’s a neat idea. I like the idea of striving to improve and promising to be a better version of yourself in the year to come. After all, if you’ve put some serious thought into your resolutions, following them can only make you happier. That’s at least true for me. I’m not happy when things stay the same for too long, or when I don’t feel like I’m motivated. And what better way to keep me motivated and on track then to post my resolutions online for everyone to see? Haha.

2012 was an amazing year, but with a little effort I think we can make 2013 just as good!
2013-resolutions

  1. Keep Working Out. I’m really happy with my progress in 2012, so I really just want to keep it up. And now that I have an elliptical at home I really have no excuse to be lazy. So my goal is to work out about 4 times a week, unless I’m sick, traveling, or extremely busy.
  2. Keep Traveling. I don’t think I’ve ever seen as many new places as I did last year, and it was amazing! Our honeymoon was a big part of that (and we won’t be repeating that any time soon), but I want to keep going on weekend trips even if it’s just to Atlanta. And we’re already planning on a road trip through Florida when spring break comes along.
  3. Try to Eat Healthy During Weekdays. This is the one resolution that I’m the most likely to break! I love my fast food, chocolate, and potato chips. But from now on I’m going to limit it as much as possible. Saturdays and Sundays are for movie nights and snacks, any other day is for trying out new healthy and delicious recipes – and sharing them with all of you!
  4. Be More Social. Last spring was extremely busy with school and I hardly ever had time to hang out with friends. And when I finally did have some time off I would rather just curl up on the couch and watch a movie with Andy. In the long run this didn’t exactly make me very happy. However, during fall I put much more of an effort into being social, and it was a much better semester!
  5. Make Plans. We will be staying in Athens until Andy is done with his PhD, which is at least another year and a half, but after that I haven’t the faintest idea what I want to do. So this might sound a little silly, but one of my resolutions is to put some serious thought into what I want to do with my life. Where do I want to live, where do I want to work, and what is going to make me happy in the long run? Because right now I have no idea.
  6. Keep in Touch! I’m probably not the only one who is bad at this. When your life gets busy and you have a hundred things to think about, you tend to forget about the friends and family you haven’t talked to in forever. Sitting down to write a letter might not be the first thing on your mind, but it means so much to the one receiving it. I am lucky to have great friends back in Norway, and every time we meet it seems like no time at all has gone by. But I would love to know more about their day-to-day life when I’m not around. So this year I am going to write more emails, letters, facebook messages, and texts to all the people I care about. And I hope you’ll join me!

Here is one of my happiest moments from 2012. It’s a tough one to beat, but I’m already wondering which moments are going to stay with me from 2013.
557

2 thoughts on “2013 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

