Mashed Cauliflower

I have never been a huge fan of cauliflower growing up, but after reading about mashed cauliflower as a low-carb side dish for the n’teenth time, I decided to give it a go. And I was positively surprised.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large cauliflower
  • 2-3 tablespoons of sour cream (or cream cheese)
  • 2/3 to 1 cup of grated cheese (I used a Mexican blend)
  • 3 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic (or garlic powder – I used a lot)
  • 1 teaspoon straight chicken base or bullion
  • 1 teaspoon of pepper
  • Chives for garnish

These measurements are really just an estimate – add however much you like. I ended up adding a bit more of all the spices after I was done. Just make sure you taste it as you go along.

Chop the cauliflower into smaller pieces and boil it for about 8 minutes, or until well done. I don’t have a food processor myself so I made sure it was a bit overcooked (almost 15 minutes) before I drained it. That way it was a lot easier to mash. When you’ve drained the cauliflower, pat it dry with paper towels but do not let it cool off. Add all the ingredients to either a food processor or a big bowl and mash it up as much as you can and serve it with a delicious main dish.

It’s really hard to get an appetizing picture of anything that is mashed, but here you go.
IMG_5085
I really liked it with my ground sausage mix – the spicy meat mixed well with the cauliflower.
IMG_5110
And Andy thought it was a great addition to the creamy baked chicken recipe I posted a few days ago.
IMG_5175

5 thoughts on “Mashed Cauliflower

  1. Mashed cauliflower is great. Now that you have been re-introduced to cauliflower, you need to try the roasted cauliflower with red chile, cilantro & lime recipe on the blog. It’s easy and stunningly good. Even if you’re not a big fan of cauliflower you will like it. It’s the most popular recipe on the blog by a margin of 3:1 and has been pinned and repinned on Pinterest beyond belief.

Leave a Reply

