Skin Care Products

Now that spring is right around the corner (yeah, I’m being optimistic), I’m sure we all want our skin to look it’s best for when it’s time to wear shorts and t-shirts again. I always feel better about myself when my skin looks nice and I don’t have to use tons of makeup to cover up my blemishes – and I’m probably not the only one. Here are a few great, and affordable, products that I really, really love (because I hate that some of these products often cost more than your entire spring wardrobe). I also feel like I should mention that I have what’s called “normal skin” (not especially oily or dry), and that my skin isn’t normally sensitive to any products.

summer_skin_products

1 – Neutrogena Body Clear® Body Scrub
I use this exfoliating body scrub every time I shower. Mostly on my back and face, or any other “problem area”. It’s no overnight miracle cure for acne, but I have seen good results after using it for several months. My skin feels smoother and more even, and – although it’s not completely gone – I definitely have less acne than before I started using it. So it is absolutely worth $6 for a bottle that should last you a couple of months.

2 – The Body Shop Vitamin E Nourishing Night Cream
This is probably my favorite out of these six products. I use it every night, and sometimes even in the morning if my skin needs a little extra moisture. The vitamin E helps reduce redness in my face overnight, and my skin is always smooth and soft when I wake up. It also has a good smell that isn’t overpowering; it kind of reminds me of baby products. The only drawback is that this little container costs $20, which might seem like a little much. However, mine is just about empty now, after using it for four months. You only need a little bit of it every night.

3 – Bath & Body Works Intense Moisture Body Butter
I’ve used this lotion for years, and can’t get enough! I’m sure they are all great, but I really love the smell of “Paris Amour”, so that’s the one I keep coming back to. I use it year round (though I also have their regular lotion which is faster to apply, dries faster, and great for when something stronger isn’t needed), but I really love it during the summer because shaving your calves every day tends to make them dry. It is also perfect for your knees, elbows, and other dry areas right after you get out of the shower. Just a tip: Apply it to your feet at night and sleep with socks, it’s amazing!

4 – Banana Boat Self-Tanning Lotion
This doesn’t improve the quality of your skin a whole lot (just makes it slightly softer), but who doesn’t feel sexier with a bit of a tan? I hate all the different types of spray-on tanners (even when done professionally). They are hard to apply and some times look splotchy after a week, instead of coming off evenly. This is just a regular lotion that happen to give your skin a slightly darker color. You should still be sure to get it everywhere, though, and it’s easier if you get someone else to do your back. You can then use it as often as you like – though I stick to a couple times a week – and get the shade you like best. And, best of all, I have never seen it come off my skin in patches. It just wears of gradually. The smell is slightly overwhelming in the beginning, though, even though it’s not very strong.

5 – eos Lip Balm, lemon drop spf 15
I have eos lip balms in just about every color/flavor, but this one is my favorite. It smells delicious, makes my lips feel great, and has a bit of the protection you need on sunny days. It’s only about $3 and I’ve had mine for forever (although that’s also because I have so many of them). And, hey! They also look super cute, right?

6 – eos Hand Lotion
Okay, I have to admit that I haven’t tried this one yet. But I’ve wanted to for a long time, since I’ve heard so many good things about it – I just keep forgetting to get one. I love that it’s small enough to fit in my purse, and if it’s anything like their lip balm it should be great for my hands! And since it’s only $4 I really have to try it out. Let me know how it is if you buy it.

6 thoughts on “Skin Care Products

Leave a Reply

