Mardi Gras Birthday Party

Yesterday was Joe’s surprise birthday party – and also Mardi Gras. So Maria and Kristen combined them both into a big surprise party. The food and dessert was all from Louisiana, though, since that’s where Joe’s from. I think we ended up being 12 people, and I definitely had a great time.

Waiting for the birthday boy to get here. Turns out it was only the neighbors walking up the stairs.
IMG_5723
IMG_5726
There was so much delicious food – they were all Louisiana specialties, like gumbo and Jambalaya.
IMG_5727
Here’s the Jambalaya me and Andy made. I had never tried it before, but I loved it! It’s spicy and delicious, with chicken, shrimp and Andouille sausage. I’m going to post the recipe later tonight.
IMG_5720
And for dessert there was King cake (another thing I’d never heard of before). It was sweet and tasted a bit like cinnamon – very good. I first thought they were joking when they says there was supposed to be a “baby” inside the cake (a tiny plastic one). And apparently whoever gets it has to bring the cake for next years party. We didn’t find it until we had eaten the whole thing!
IMG_5734
IMG_5753
IMG_5757

Leave a Reply

