My Eye Makeup

Mascara:
As I’ve mentioned before, Clinique’s high impact and high definition mascaras (in black) are my all time favorites. You can get them for $16 each online, but I always buy mine at Belk for $15. I think I buy them about twice a year, depending on how much I use them.
IMG_5856
Okay. Here’s a quick “before picture” with my eye shadow already done. My lashes are almost blond and invisible without mascara. However I’ve never used a lash curler, since they are naturally curled.
IMG_5857
First I apply two layers of the High Definition mascara. It is great for separating your eyelashes and to avoid any lumps. It’s a great everyday mascara when you don’t want anything too dramatic.
IMG_5861
Afterward I apply two layers of the High Impact mascara, which makes you lashes fuller. I used to use this mascara by itself, but it tends to be a bit too wet which makes all your eyelashes stick together.
IMG_5877

Eyeliner:
As you can see in the above picture, I’ve also applied eyeliner on my top and bottom waterline. This is where I prefer to apply mine – I think it’s much faster and I like the way it looks. (If I want a more dramatic look I will use a darker eye shadow and apply my eyeliner to my top and bottom lids instead.) But, of course, you will need a waterproof eyeliner for this to work. I use a cream one from Makeup Forever. Well, technically it’s an eye shadow, but it works just fine either way. I have had mine for close to two years, and I’m only two thirds through it. Just make sure you close it properly, or it will dry up. You will need an angled eyeliner brush to apply it – and a bit of training. Make sure you don’t apply it too close to either corner of your eye, because it will then smear onto your skin or gather in the corner of your eye after you have worn it for a few hours. Something I noticed in the beginning…
IMG_5869

Eye Shadow:
I have two favorite eye shadow sets, both from Too Faced. The Natural Eye Shadow Collection I use on a daily basis and the Smokey Eye Shadow Collection is more for special occasions.
too_faced_eye_shadow
I tend to mix-and-match a bit, even though the looks are great the way they are intended too (day, classic, and fashion). For the look below I have first applied Silk Teddy to the entire lid. Then I used Push-Up (it’s my favorite) on the lower part of my lid, from the crease down, before moving on to Cocoa Puff. I start at the outer corner of my eye and follow the bone about halfway across my eye, in the shape of my sickle moon. I like to make the outer edge dark while going lighter toward the middle. When I’m done I use a little more of Silk Teddy in the inner corner of my eye and along the bottom of my eyebrow, just to smooth out the edges of my eye shadow.

I normally use a similar technique, even when I use different colors. What do you think?
IMG_5878

I took these pictures last week before posting my “boyfriend jeans outfit”. It’s definitely a bit too much for an everyday look, but this is how I do my makeup when I go out (though sometimes I use the smokey eye shadow set). For an everyday look I would normally stick to two layers of the High Definition mascara and the eye shadow from the “day look” – just without the Sexpresso, it’s a bit too dark.
IMG_5899

4 thoughts on “My Eye Makeup

  1. I was waiting for this post since you hinted you might do one last week! I have those exact two mascaras but I never thought to use them together, I did it today and yay! I love the effect! I love this blog, keep the great posts coming!🙂 Hug!

Leave a Reply

