Crockpot Chicken Tikka Masala

I love all types of Indian food, and nothing beats making dinner in a crockpot, so when I found this recipe at Tablefortwoblog I just had to try it out. I’ve actually had it bookmarked for weeks.

Ingredients:

  • 8 boneless, skinless chicken tenderloins, or about 5 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 3 lbs.)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp. fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 (29 oz.) can of tomato puree
  • 1 1/2 cups plain yogurt
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. Garam masala
  • 1 tbsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tbsp. paprika
  • 2 tsp. salt, or to taste
  • 3/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp. fresh ground black pepper
  • 1-3 tsp. cayenne pepper (depending on your heat preference)
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3 tbsp. cornstarch
  • Chopped parsley or cilantro, for topping

I made some necessary changes because I was missing a couple things. I used curry instead of garam masala, my can of tomato puree was only 28 ounces, and I skipped the cornstarch all together.

It’s such a great and simple recipe, but there is a bunch of chopping to be done. First you want to chop the chicken and onion, and mince the garlic and ginger.
IMG_6785
Then you want to mix together everything but the bay leaves, cream, and cornstarch. I have a big crock pot, so I mixed everything in there. If you don’t you might want to use a big bowl. After it’s all completely mixed, add the bay leaves and put it to cook for 4 hours on high or 8 hours on low.
IMG_6787
After it’s done cooking mix together the cream and cornstarch in a small bowl and add it to the crockpot to thicken it up. Let it cook for another 20 minutes before you serve it with rice.
IMG_6798

PS: Pay attention to the measurements. I didn’t, and ended up reading “tablespoon” everywhere it said “teaspoon”… Needless to say it was a lot spicier than intended. So I added a bit more yogurt before cooking it, and I was surprised at how much I still liked the finished result. It will definitely clear out your sinuses, but if you love “Indian spicy” I would say to give it a try! (Although I only added one tablespoon of salt, not two!)

9 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken Tikka Masala

  1. Pingback: Intro to Crockpot Cooking: The Chicken « Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

